Why is Jira disliked so much?

Subin Philips September 23, 2019

Hello everyone,,

I've been comparing different systems for a few months in order to build a project management system. Jira core stuck out to me for a) the ease of customisation and b) cost. Their use of Java is the only big red flag for me

[Spam content removed]

thank you to all. I knew I could find healthy discussions/responses here.

4 comments

Deniz Oğuz
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 23, 2019

Jira is used a lot. It is dominating "issue tracking" business. Since a lot of users are using it, it is normal that there are more people bashing it. Even if 10 percent of people using it would complain, it makes a lot of people. Another reason I can think of is price increase. Atlassian prices are increasing nearly every year. 

Like Jimmy Seddon likes this
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 23, 2019

my original reply was misplaced when this issue was moved making it appear that I agreed with this post. which I don't FWIW.

here is my original response - Agree. It would be interesting to see an objective statistical analysis comparing all of the top issue tracking and project management SW.

Like Jimmy Seddon likes this
Andrew Laden
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 24, 2019

At the risk of getting my atlassian card revoked...