What would be your advice to first-time Jira Software admins?

Sarah Schuster
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 24, 2018

Hey everyone! My name is Sarah Schuster, and I'm a Customer Success Manager in Atlassian specializing in Jira Software Cloud. Over the next few weeks I will be posting discussion topics to get your expert advice to help new or first-time Jira Software Admins be successful. 

So discussion topic #1: What would be your advice for first-time Jira Software admins? Tips? Tricks? Avoid doing that one thing everyone seems to always do? Let us know below!

Nice to meet you all!

Sarah

142 comments

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new comments.

Post a new discussion

Sebastian Kleinholz
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 24, 2018

To be honest, your mighty product has grown over the past decades and got really complex. My most important (better first) advice would be: "Stay calm and do not despair!"

Like # people like this
Claudio Ombrella January 24, 2018

My advice is to properly read the Jira documentation as it has a lot of things useful to start with the right approach. 

In the list of favourites:

1. Admin rights only to people that know what they are doing :)
  2. Make sure the organisation agrees on some working standards: my experience in large organisations is that people want to work on their own way without thinking the big picture: results is hundreds of workflows.
  3. Make sure the organisation has a process: I found at times that organisations did not have a process but wanted Jira to invent one for them :)
  4. Keep under control the number of custom fields