Updating the Date field (adding days) depending on the value in the "text" field - Scrypt runner

Pawel September 3, 2020

Updating the Date field (adding days) depending on the value in the "text" field - Scrypt runner

Hello, I am a beginner in programming. I need to write a script that will check if the task type is, for example: "test report" if so, it will set the "xxx" field (date time field) depending on the value in the "yyy" field (text field).

If "yyy" is 1 month, then "xxx" is set to + 30 days from the date in the "xxx" field.

if "yyy" is 3 months, then "xxx" is set + 3 months from the date that was previously in this field.

Can I count on help? I will be very grateful.

1 comment

Tuncay Senturk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 3, 2020

Hi @Pawel Podl 

Welcome to the community!

Even your request needs to be clarified, I will try to write some Groovy code which might boost your development.

Below code is just a snippet, I haven't tested it though.

Assuming;

- cfDate is the date field that you want to update according to the value in another field.

- cfMonths is the field which stores the value of how many moths will be added to the date

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.IssueInputParameters

def cfDate = ComponentAccessor.getCustomFieldManager().getCustomFieldObject("customfield_abc") // date custom field
def cfMonths = ComponentAccessor.getCustomFieldManager().getCustomFieldObject("customfield_xyz") // months custom field

def monthsToAdd = issue.getCustomFieldValue(cfMonths) as int
if (issue.type.name.equals("Test Report")) {
def date = Calendar.getInstance()
date.add(Calendar.MONTH, monthsToAdd)
issue.setCustomFieldValue(cfDate, dateAdd)
}
issueManager.updateIssue(user, issue, EventDispatchOption.ISSUE_UPDATED, false)

I hope it helps