Product managers, what's the hardest thing about creating your roadmap?

samrobertsofficial
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
June 28, 2018

Hey community, my name is Sam from Atlassian and I'm a designer on the Portfolio for Jira team. Our team has seen that no two roadmaps look the same and come in many different shapes and sizes. Getting stakeholder buy-in, making tough prioritisation decisions, and turning those plans into actions is a huge challenge and it can feel like there's no "right way" to do it. 

We'd love to hear from you. How are you dealing with some of these challenges at the moment? What are the things you've found have made it easier to communicate and collaborate on roadmaps?

We're hoping this discussion will give us insights that we can use to improve our products such as Jira , and Portfolio for Jira. Also, if you're interested in having a more in-depth or private discussion with us about this topic, you can email us at: portfolio-feedback [at] atlassian [dot] com

34 comments

Comment

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 2, 2018

Sam, are you looking at how we use Atlassian products for documenting roadmaps or more broadly how we deal w/ making roadmap decision and how we document them? I haven't used Portfolio so can't speak to whether it would work for me or not TBH. I have never really leverage Atlassian products for road mapping in the past but have always wanted an integrated solution. I briefly looked at Portfolio while at Summit last year but haven't progressed that idea TBH. I'm happy to share my thoughts if you are looking for input from those not using Atlassian tools for the process.

Like # people like this
samrobertsofficial
Atlassian Team