Moving incomplete stories over to the next sprint

Nikki Branca January 9, 2020

I am working with teams that are both new to SCRUM and new to JIRA and I am also new to JIRA.

We are trying to establish our velocity by estimating on JIRA. Most of the time, the stories are not completed within the sprint although we are getting better at estimating. When we move to the next sprint, we move the stories that are not in Done, to the next sprint.

The problem is that this skews both the previous sprint (which now reflects less work having been done than is true) and the current sprint (which now reflects more work having been done than is true) particularly when the tickets were almost complete.

What is the best way to handle this? 

2 comments

Comment

Pete Singleton
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 9, 2020

I would argue that the statistics are not being skewed - they are a true reflection of which stories were or were not completed within the sprint.  Your target for sprint planning should be to allocate those stories which you expect to complete.  Over time, you should have less and less stories being moved to the next sprint as your estimating gets better (as you say it is).  For now though I think the reports are showing as they should, things were either completed or they weren't, there is no 'half done in sprint' concept with Scrum.

Like # people like this
Nikki Branca January 10, 2020

Hi Pete