Any teams out there practicing DevOps?

Danielle Gessow
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 13, 2017

Do you have designated DevOps teams? Where are you in the process of implementation? What Atlassian and other add-ons and tools do you use? What best practices and advice do you have for others getting started?

4 comments

Comment

Daniel Yelamos [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 18, 2017

Hello Danielle. 

I do not mind starting this discussion. However, I am a very young Computer Engineer so take any of this with a grain of salt. As I understand DevOps, it is spending a lot of time, to develop tools to be more comfortable.

Before my current position at Adaptavist I was a DevOps engineer in Spain and before that I was a System Administrator trying to get a very traditional company to get into a CI pipeline. We would use DevOps methodologies to help deploy around 15-30 packages a day within a very complex infrastructure. Our core infrastructure was based upon Stash, Bamboo and Crowd. 

I have switched to a different position within another company as you can see but I still read a lot about DevOps. The following is an opinion that I have based on what I believe would be a good automated infrastructure based on DevOps methodologies. This is by no means anything that I have developed before, but it is a basic idea of what I believe a good DevOps infrastructure could look like.

The main parts of it would be:

-Crowd Server for easy auth that integrates well with other Atlassian software.

-Bitbucket server for storing their source code.