Issue level archival in Jira Cloud: EAP signup

Hi Jira community!

My name is Arjoon Som, and I work as a Product Manager in Jira Cloud. This post serves two functions. First and foremost, we want to let our customers know that we are actively working on implementing issue-level archival in Jira Cloud. Second, we would like to invite customers to participate in our Early Access Program (EAP) so that we can test the archive and unarchive functionality with a small group of customers.

What is the feature?

Atlassian is working on the ability to archive individual Jira Cloud issues. Right now in Jira Cloud, to hide/remove old issues from your instance, you must either archive the entire project or remove them using filters. Neither of these options is ideal. With Issue-level archival, will be able to archive issues in any active project without having to archive the project itself.

Work on the solution is progressing, and multiple teams are working together to get it to customers as soon as possible. This feature is already available in Data Center(DC). Adding this feature in Jira Cloud will:

(a) Make it possible for our DC customers to migrate their DC archived issues to the cloud as archived

(b) Reduce a key feature difference between DC and Cloud.

When will the EAP begin?

The EAP is scheduled to begin on March 27th, 2023. The EAP will last about six months. During this time, we intend to gradually roll out functionality to our EAP customers.

What phases are planned for the EAP and what/when will you deliver?

Our tentative phases are as follows:

Phase

What will this phase enable?

Expected Date

P1: Core APIs

• Jira Admins can Archive & unarchive via APIs

• Jira Admins can download a file with a list of archived issues with details via API

• All users can access an archived issue via a direct url which will open up the Issue View. The issue will be flagged as archived.

• Jira Admins will be able to modify archived issues via Bulk Actions