Who mostly manages/administers Jira in your organization?

Derek McDonald February 18, 2021

Is it the scrum master/project manager or the product owner?

3 answers

2 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
John Funk
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 18, 2021

Hi Derek!

We have a large enough organization that I am the full time Administrator. I am also a Kanban Coach and Trainer, but the vast majority of my time is performed as the tools administrator. 

1 vote
Answer accepted
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 18, 2021

if you have a very small instance (1-2 teams) then maybe consider one of those. However, IMO this needs to be managed w/in your IT support team if you have one. Generally IT is responsible for administering software applications. With that said, it is more about the persons experience and availability than who they report to.

1 vote
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
February 18, 2021

Hello @Derek McDonald 

Welcome to the community.

What level of managing/administering JIRA are you asking about? There is project management, and then there is management of the overall JIRA instance including user access, global permissions, schemes used to configure projects, managing add-ons, and so on.

Derek McDonald February 18, 2021

Hi, Trudy.  Thanks.  From the project management perspective.

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
February 18, 2021