What is the difference between an issue and a story?

David K October 23, 2013

I am new to Agile and am struggleing with definitions:

1. Project - a place to hold a bunch of stories

2. Sprint - a group of stories that will be completed in some amount of time, usually 1 -2 weeks

3. Story - The smallest unit of work. Also called an issue?

4. Epic - a large chunk of work that will be represented by a bunch of stories. There can be several epics in a project?

Is this close? Is there a good source to understand this? I looked through the documentation and struggled to find what I was looking for.

Thanks,

4 answers

1 accepted

8 votes
Answer accepted
EddieW
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 23, 2013

Your understanding is good, and they do have some great documentation on the matter. For Agile focused terms you will want to focus on the JIRA Agile docs (formerly greenhopper), for more general project/issue types you will use JIRA (core) documentation.

#1 a place to hold _issues_ which may or may not be stories (see #3) https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/What+is+a+Project

# 2 yes, completed ideally, commited to atleast.

#3 Stories are specific "User Stories" .

Issue is an umbreall term. It includes

• Stories
  • Sub-tasks
  • Epics
  • Bug
  • Any number of custom types.

#4 Yeah, just a large story (too large for a sprint) A project is most certain to have many epics. epics typically span multiple sprints, and sometimes start as a story that is realized to be much bigger once the team starts estimating _before_ comitting to it.

Renjith Pillai
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 23, 2013