Use "remaining time" estimates, deactivate "time spent"

kriegaex May 19, 2022

I have been an agile coach for 15+ years, and in 90% of my projects in Germany we have the same Jira problem over and over again: Scrum teams want to estimate stories in SP, but tasks in hours (or other units of time). There is an original estimate and upated remaining time estimates. Currently, in order to use the corresponding out-of-the-box Jira feature, we are forced to activate time logging/tracking, too, which is an absolute no-go in most German companies, because each workers' council would refuse tracking time spent on an individual basis and simply forbid the company to use it, which is understandable (and anti agile, too). In other cases, there already is another, dedicated software outside of Jira for logging/tracking time spent for internal costing or invoicing clients. Of course, those companies fear duplication or "shadow book-keeping" and hence also deactivate the feature.

In agile teams, it often is helpful to track remaining time estimates without logging time spent. Especially for transitioning, yet immature agile teams not used to WIP limits and working on stories as a whole team, this is a way to track progress and generate a meaningful sprint burndown chart, if stories are closed late in the sprint and the story point burndown does not change in the first half of the sprint. I like to use the two types of burndowns (SP versus remaining time estimate) in order to discuss problems like multi-tasking, knowledge silos etc. in retrospectives to facilitate team discussions and stimulate change.

How can we use remaining time estimates without time logging? If we cannot deactivate the latter separately, can we at least hide the corresponding fields and buttons and spent time bars etc. from view/edit dialogues so as not to scare off the workers' council or make employees accidentally log their time there instead of simply updating the remaining time estimate?

1 answer