Unable to find Business Value field in "Custom Fields"

Sriram Sridharan January 3, 2017

Hi, I'm new to Jira, so please go easy on me if I'm asking a really dumb question. 

I've created a Scrum Software Project, and I'm adding stories to my product backlog. I'm also estimating each item in the backlog by setting appropriate Story Points. 

In line with agile methodologies, I also want to be able to set Business Value points to each of my items. I read that there's a field called Business Value for an issue. 

But when I get to Custom Fields, I do not find that field there. Is this a field that comes out of the box with JIRA? Or should I add it on my own?

By the way, we have bought license for JIRA Software (Cloud), but i'm still not clear if that includes all the features of JIRA Agile. If yes, then I'm stuck with the above question. Otherwise, please help me on how to proceed?

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 3, 2017

Generally, JIRA Agile or Software (depending on your JIRA Core version) will add Business Value by default, but depending on how your system has evolved, it may not be there.

As an admin, go to the list of custom fields and check it - you might find "is not configured for any project" which means it won't appear, or it's not there at all.  Change the context to "global" or a set of projects, or just add the field (it's a simple numeric field), and you should find it all works.

JIRA Software is not quite the same as JIRA Agile, but it evolved from it, and you can consider it a simple upgrade from Agile. You can use JIRA Agile up to JIRA 6.4, then you'll have to move to Software for JIRA 7+.