Schedule Issues Permission - Unable to delete a sprint

Anant Jain May 13, 2020

Hello,

I'm a project admin in our JIRA setup. I also have explicit Schedule issue permissions. But whenever I try to delete a sprint, I get the following error. The funny part is, this is a completely empty sprint. Not a single issue in the sprint.

How do I fix this? I assumed having admin rights should not result in this problem (based on my reading of other complaints with this issue.

I'm also unable to use the permission helper as this issue is with the sprint and not with a specific issue. Also as I mentioned above, there are NO tickets in the sprint at all.

5 answers

0 votes
Juan August 29, 2023

If you create a test ticket and start the sprint, you probably will see that there are some "Done" tickets in the sprint. Then you can just close the sprint.

0 votes
Alexander Tynetalo June 16, 2022

To delete a sprint you don't need Schedule issue permission, but the Manage Sprints permission. Please look at your Permission Scheme at check if your role has this permission

0 votes
Rodrigo Matias January 19, 2022

Hi,

I am facing the same issue.

Permissions checked and issues searched through JQL. Full permissions (admin rights) and the sprint is empty. No reports were used.

I already deleted the other ones. Just one is throwing the error message (error below).

Error

We couldn't make that happen because you don't have Schedule Issues permission.

Daniel Ebers
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 28, 2022

One idea would be that the issue in question resides in a different project where the executing user does not have the "Schedule Issues" permission.