Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Sample Project to explore for a newb

Hi Community,

I am completely new to Jira and is looking for a complete kanban sample project to explore and see how things can be done.

I have spent hours searching communities etc. for this and have repeatedly been stepping on the threshold:

Jira Issue.PNGAll videos, tutorials etc. that show how to generate this seems to have some years on the clock.

Is it possible to get hold of a sample project when I am using Jira Software Cloud today (2021)

In advance I thank you!!

2 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Dirk Ronsmans Community Leader Mar 22, 2021

Hi @Morten Dremark-Larsen and welcome to the community,

It seems the "sample project" is only available on Server/DC and not on Cloud.

What you can do is create a new blank project and then create a new board. On the board creation screen you can choose to create one with sample data

image.png

Hi @Dirk Ronsmans

Thank you for your reply. Led on by your answer I kept digging. It turns out, that one can not get the sample data in a board, if the project is created as a NextGen-project. Little detail - big difference :-)

Thank you for your assistance. 

Like John Funk likes this
Dirk Ronsmans Community Leader Mar 24, 2021

Ah yes, small detail with large impact.

Next Gen (currently being rebranded to Team Managed) projects are a whole different animal.

Like # people like this

It looks like you can still get sample data in Cloud, but it's kind of convoluted. As of April, 2021, using what's apparently the latest version of things, here's how I did it successfully for both Scrum and Kanban boards. (Note: This is a weird place this feature is buried and it seems like an afterthought; so it probably could disappear any time.)