Quick Search - How to Find Tasks Assigned to Individuals?

Rodney Chan April 26, 2021

I'm a bit new to using JIRA, and have a hopefully quick question

My company uses JIRA Software (Cloud) and in the top right corner there is a "Search" box.

In the search, I know I can try typing in keywords to try and find tasks. I can also do a quick search on tasks assigned to me. 

But I was wondering is there a way to do a "quick search" and find all the tasks that are assigned to a specific individual?

I know I can go to "Advanced Search" and  there is a specific filter drop down to search by "Assignee" and I can find all the tasks assigned to a user here. 

Just curious if "Quick Search" is restricted to only searching keywords.

Thanks for any advice!

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Andrew Kendris
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 26, 2021

Hello @Rodney Chan - I think the best screen for you to run those types of searches is through the Filter screen 🙂 There you can set all sorts of parameters to get exactly what you are looking for.  There is the basic search which allows you to leverage drop down and then an advanced search where you can use JQL to write our queries.

Hope this helps and feel free to follow up with any other questions you have! Hope you are also able to join the Team '21 discussions! 

Hi @Andrew Kendris !

Thanks for the response, and if you dont mind I do have a follow up question just to clarify. 

I just want to make sure I got the lingo right so I am assuming that the searches are as follows

Quick Search

Quick serach.jpg

"Filter screen"

advanced.jpg

Advanced search

very advanced.jpg

And your recommending to use the "filter screen"?

I just wanted to make sure I am looking in the right spot :)

caglad
Rising Star
Rising Star