Next-Gen Project Template, how to clone/duplicate?

Deleted user January 20, 2020

I am currently very new to Jira and have been tasked to create a project "template" for onboarding a new client, multiple teams are involved and Jira is great to track progress.  My goal is to create a generic onboarding next-gen project in Jira so that we can duplicate the same process for each new client.  Is this possible with Next-Gen and if so, what are the steps?

4 answers

7 votes
philipp_matuschka January 28, 2021

So let me see if I have understand this. You are promoting that we all move to next-gen projects, but when we do so, we cannot re-use workflows, we cannot set up template projects and we cannot clone projects to workaround those restrictions. That's pretty frustrating!

4 votes
Angélica Luz
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 21, 2020

Hello mwiggers,

Welcome to Atlassian Community!

Next-gen projects are independent of other next-gen and classic projects, so the custom fields, workflows, permissions are not shared between them.

Currently, there is no option to clone or duplicate a next-gen project. There is an option to create a project with a shared configuration that copies the settings from a project to another, but it works only for classic projects.

There is a feature request suggesting the implementation of this ability:

Please, click on vote and watch to receive updates about the feature.

Regards,
Angélica

1 vote
George Manning May 24, 2021

Here's another unhappy Nextgen user. We customized a project and now have to reapply those customizations to a new project, mostly column names that fit our team.

0 votes
Marlene Kegel - codefortynine
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
January 28, 2021

Hi @[deleted] ,