Nested Projects in Jira

Nkululeko Qwabe June 17, 2021

Dear Jira Community

I am new to Jira and would like to know if there is a way to nest projects, i.e. creatig a project, and another one within that one and then having epics for each project?

For example:

Big Project

>>> Project 1

>>>>>> Epic*

>>> Project 2

>>>>>> Epic*

Thanks.

4 answers

4 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 19, 2021

> I just want to be able to view all the work in our department under one project

Nested projects would not do that, even if Jira implemented them.  Your "view of all our work" should be drawn from, well, the work, which means looking at the issues.

One example would be "search for all issues assigned to people in our department", and that's what most people would use.  If you are genuinely having a set of projects that contain all the issues for your department, that's fine, but rather than looking at assignee or stamping some other think on the issues, I would put all the projects for each department into a project category for that department and then use the search "category = <department>" to see all the issues across all those projects, as the base of your report.

0 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 17, 2021

Hello @Nkululeko Qwabe 

Welcome to the community.

What are you trying to achieve by having a "parent" project? Fore instance, are you trying to combine output of multiple projects in a single report? 

If you tell us what you are trying to achieve we may be able to suggest a method for accomplishing it.