Missing Comments in Jira Software

Hi all,

We are missing some comments and i think i found them in cache\indexes\comments.

Do anyone know how to import them into Jira?

I already tried to Re-Index Jira, but this didn't work.

Best Regards,

1 answer

0 vote
Alexey Matveev Community Champion Nov 06, 2017

Maybe you are not missing them. Maybe they were secured to a group or role to which you do not belong.

Exactly my thought too.

Comments don't "go missing" unless bad things happen.  It's far more likely that you can't see them in the UI and there's nothing to "import".  (And no, "I am an admin" is irrelevant when it comes to it, admin means admin, not "I can arbitrarily see stuff that I might not want to as a user")

I pretty sure i'm missing them.

I received a notification mail which contains the comment.

When i open the link and i got forwarded to the issue, the  comment is not displayed.

Best Regards

Alexey Matveev Community Champion Nov 06, 2017

In scriptrunner console execute

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor

def issue = ComponentAccessor.getIssueManager().getIssueByCurrentKey("issuekey")

ComponentAccessor.commentManager.getComments(issue).each{ it -> log.error(it.getBody()) }

And see if your comment is there

Everytime I got this Error 

2017-11-07 10:58:45,911 WARN [common.UserScriptEndpoint]: Script console script failed: 
at com.atlassian.jira.issue.managers.DefaultIssueManager.getEntitiesByIssueObject(DefaultIssueManager.java:410)
at com.atlassian.jira.issue.managers.RequestCachingIssueManager.getEntitiesByIssueObject(RequestCachingIssueManager.java:155)
at com.atlassian.jira.issue.comments.CommentSearchManager.getComments(CommentSearchManager.java:106)
at com.atlassian.jira.issue.comments.DefaultCommentManager.getComments(DefaultCommentManager.java:174)
at com.atlassian.jira.issue.comments.CommentManager$getComments.call(Unknown Source)
at Script1.run(Script1.groovy:3)

Best Regards