Jira Api queries

Bhargavi April 17, 2021

In our jira project we need to populate custom field values from an external application(Text fields).For that we have a Soap Api to make use of.I am not really aware  of how to use Soap Api in jira.The idea is to add this api call on field behaviours.

However while going through Jira Soap Api I came across articles stating Soap Api is deprecated in Jira.

Could anyone please help me understand if we can use Soap Api in latest versions of Jira Server.

Any examples of the script also helps as I am a beginner on this.

Thanks in Advance!!

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 18, 2021

There's two things you might be talking of here, probably easiest to think of them as "incoming" and "outgoing" relative to Jira.

SOAP is a method Jira used to have to enable "incoming" - meaning another system wants to talk to Jira, it pokes it over the SOAP API to ask Jira questions or give it commends.

SOAP was deprecated in Jira years ago and removed shortly afterwards, if you wish to use incoming now, you need to use the REST API to talk to it.

"Outgoing" is where Jira talks to another system.  Jira has webhooks in it that allow simple configuration that when something happens in Jira, it can poke other systems over a URL.  If that system is using SOAP to provide its external interfaces, then you can use SOAP urls to do it.  Or REST, or anything else.  You can also code with scripting languages to build any calls you need, or use Apps that can make the remote calls you want.

Bhargavi April 18, 2021

We need to populate custom field values from external application when issue is created in my Jira project.

So In my case I can use external Soap Api to connect with jira as this comes under Outgoing scenario.