• Community
  • Products
  • Jira Software
  • Questions
  • Is there a way to promote a sub-task to a story and have issue linking to the parent story taken care of automatically without having to purchase additional software and re-configure workflows?

Is there a way to promote a sub-task to a story and have issue linking to the parent story taken care of automatically without having to purchase additional software and re-configure workflows?

Carl Menezes November 18, 2014

Background:

1. You've estimated a story on some legacy code and broken it out into sub-tasks. 
  2. The story has been accepted into a sprint and didn't get done because one sub-task turned out to be big enough to be its own story.
  3. You are now at sprint planning for the next sprint.

What is the best way to take that sub-task and convert it into a story while reflecting the fact that it prevents the story it came from from being completed?

I'm fairly new to JIRA Agile, so be kind. My current understanding is that you have Epics that break down into Stories that break down into sub-tasks. If I'm missing something please feel free to point it out as well.

Clairification to my question:

As people have suggested, the logical approach is to convert the sub-task to an issue. The question then becomes "what is the issue type"? Exploring the various issue types according to https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/225206, tells me that I probably want to convert the issue to a story. However, there are also "Tasks" and "Features". According to https://answers.atlassian.com/questions/252013, it doesn't really make a difference because it is based on the configuration.