Is there a way to allow @mention without them being able to see All People?

Karen Wille July 9, 2020

We have just migrated our JIRA to the new JIRA cloud version

Clients are in their own user group and when I give them permission to Browse projects and People in Global permissions they can @mention on issues BUT they also can go to the People Tab and search for all people and teams which is a Privacy issue.

There is no @mention permission on its own in the Global permissions it is tied to Browse.

So i have had to remove their permission on Browse as Privacy is a huge concern for any company these days - its data really. 

Is there a way that I can let people @ mention people on their project without giving them extra access!

Surely someone clever has solved this before (and I am not technical).

Thank you!

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 10, 2020

I'm afraid Jira has a very flat user access scheme.

You can either see everyone, or you can't (and if you can't, you still can mention them, but you have to know their ids).

Although it's a flat yes-or-no, it would not make any sense to have "mention but can't browse" - if you don't want people to see the list of other people, they you absolutely don't want people to be able to get the list by typing things into a comment and seeing what the autocomplete gives back.

Karen Wille July 19, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to respond. I had hoped that clients could just @mention anyone that is assigned to their project and not see any other People tabs or people not related to their project. 

With APRA regulations and tightening security I don't want clients to see any other client data even if it is just their name.