Come for the products,
stay for the community

The Atlassian Community can help you and your team get more value out of Atlassian products and practices.

Atlassian Community about banner
Community Members

Community Events
Community Groups

Is it good practice to link tasks and bugs as children to stories?

I have inherited some Jira projects where the teams have task issues and bug issues linked to story issues and I have never done this before in my past and I am not sure, if this makes sense, because for one tasks and stories are at the same level in Jira and bugs to me would also be at the same level, but want to get other opinions. 

2 answers

2 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Samuel Community Leader Sep 07, 2022

Hello @Clifford Perea 

Tasks, Stories, and Bugs in Jira (at least the default configuration) live at the same level and are classified in Jira as "standard" issue types. Jira also has another issue type classification, called "sub-task" issue types, which allow you to create and maintain different issue types that live at the "sub-task" level (i.e. they are children of standard issue types).

As far as whether it makes sense or not, that will partly depend on your business process(es). Linking Issues in Jira does not follow a strict parent/child relationship. you can specify links between multiple issues, and specify the link type between them as well. For example, you may choose to link a story to several tasks using a "relates to" link to indicate that the work across these different issue types is related. You could also link bugs to a story with a link type of "blocks" to indicate that the presence of the bugs is preventing/blocking the story from being worked on. These are just a few examples. More information about linking issues is available here.