In-depth Jira search

Andrew Mirauta January 19, 2021

Hello Atlassian community!

I'm fairly new to Jira and I am trying to maximize it to get some quality reports going for my team. Basically, we're a support team who tends to resolve issues fairly quickly at a small company, and we'd like to show a nice visual report of that to the rest of the company once a week. For the visuals I was thinking the Custom Charts add on. 

Now, I have SOME coding experience, but Jira seems to be a different beast, one I have zero experience with. Basically, my query would be for total issues created and solved within the previous week's timeframe. Now, that's easy enough with the date picker function, but I want issues resolved to exclude an issue started the week before and finished this one. 

Without having used Custom Charts I believe that this can map it nicely on a pie chart for a week AND for a separate query for the quarter/year for previous years' comparisons. I'd like to try the trial, I was just wondering if you guys know if Jira actually gives you a month to consider it or if you buy a year and the first month's free kinda trial?

Thanks for reading!

4 answers

2 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Andrew Mirauta January 20, 2021

Thanks @Earl McCutcheon ,

I think I'm good with the Custom Charts, but I was a little more curious to see if anyone could answer my JQL question. If I can look for issues closed within a week that are only started that week, and not before. 

Dirk Ronsmans
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 21, 2021

Hi @Andrew Mirauta well you could do something like

Created >= StartOfWeek() and resolutiondate < endOfWeek()

Like # people like this
Andrew Mirauta January 21, 2021

@Dirk Ronsmans perfect, thank you!

Like Earl McCutcheon likes this
Earl McCutcheon
Atlassian Team