Importing "Unassgined" Issues From CSV

Alex Basile April 22, 2021

Is there a way to Bulk Upload issues from a CSV where the Assignee is "Unassigned"?

If this field is left blank, then the assignee is "Automatic" and the issue will be assigned to someone based on automation rules.

However, I'm looking for a way to upload issues to the backlog so that they are not assigned to anyone until sprint planning occurs.

Thanks!

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 22, 2021

What about deactivating your Automation rules while you are executing the import?

What is triggering the automation that is causing the assignee to be set?

I've got an automation rule in the project on which I'm an admin that prevents this from happening, but I don't have control over other project automation rules. Can't turn them on/off or modify :/

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 22, 2021

I'm unclear about the intent of the automation.

If it is appropriate for the issues to be unassigned, then why is the automation configured in such a way that it is automatically setting the Assignee for issues in the backlog?

If the intent of the automation is to set the Assignee always, even for new issues added to the backlog, then why are you trying to circumvent that?

On the project that I'm having the issue with, there are some issues that are meant to be assigned to specific users and others that should be left "Unassigned".

The automation rule is in place to make sure that the reporter either chooses a specific user or specifically marks the issue as "Unassigned", rather than ignoring the "assignee" field altogether.