Come for the products,
stay for the community

The Atlassian Community can help you and your team get more value out of Atlassian products and practices.

Atlassian Community about banner
4,364,637
Community Members
 
Community Events
168
Community Groups

If I delete a user, will all the info they have included be removed

I'm trying to reduce the number of users and inactive users on my jira. But if I remove and delete the users from jira. Will the info that they have made and created be still left inside?

2 answers

1 vote
Alexis Robert Community Leader Aug 19, 2021

Hi @Ops User 2 , 

 

if you delete a user, then all the information he created in Jira will be left intact : the only change would be that instead of the user name displayed on the Jira ticket or comment, you will see an ID now.

If you deactivate a user, then its name will still be displayed on comments and tickets.

 

Anyway, you can be sure that the information the user has created will not be deleted, if the user is deleted.

Here's a link to the documentation on this topic : https://support.atlassian.com/user-management/docs/remove-or-suspend-a-user/

 

Let me know if this helps, 

 

--Alexis

0 votes

Hi @Ops User 2 ,

As @Alexis Robert mentioned, you don’t need to delete these users. Deactivating these users is the easiest option.

Jack Brickey Community Leader Aug 19, 2021

Nor should you delete them IMO.

Awesome !! thanx Guys.

Like Ollie Guan_携程_ likes this

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
DEPLOYMENT TYPE
CLOUD
PRODUCT PLAN
FREE
PERMISSIONS LEVEL
Site Admin
TAGS

Atlassian Community Events