I would like to break up a really big project into components.

Danno
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 31, 2020

I'm still relatively new at setting up my Jira instance. I would like to use multiple workflows where one component finishes or completes its task and that completion creates a task in the backlog of the next component. I'm planning on three components, one to create a kitting/inventory process/workflow, a build said kit process/workflow and an integration process/workflow. Is it possible to do this using the classic Kanban type of project and can someone point me to an example?

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Stephen Wright _Elabor8_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 31, 2020

Hi @Danno 

You can certainly slice your work into multiple components - to have different workflows, these will need to be issue types.

Issue Types can have separate workflows, screens/fields, etc - whilst components (the Jira field) are just categories for further slicing of work.

From an automation perspective, this requires a trigger to create the new issue - let's say you did create three issue types for the above workflows - Create, Build and Integration. You could then do this:

1. Go to Project Settings > Automation
  2. Press the blue "Create Rule" button in the top-right
  3. As the Trigger, add "Issue Transitioned" - as the last status in the Create workflow
  4. Next add a Condition, "Issue Fields Condition" - set the field type to Issue Type, the condition to equals and the value to "Create"