How to track and manage QA work estimates in greenhopper

Gail Stewart April 16, 2013

As a QA Engineer I would like to be able to enter QA time separately from Development time and have the sum of the two times be displayed in the Greenhopper Dashboards.

5 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Gail Stewart April 22, 2013

The answer is that there is no good way to estimate and then track qa time. The estimate (original) time is not rolled up - although the time remaining is - so in the planning stage it is useless. (when using sub-tasks). Creating two tickets, one for the development and one for the testing is sometimes the right answer and sometimes not. I believe this is one of the incomplete answers in the Agile process itself. While it says "everything must be tested" - the process is vague with respect to the entirety of QA and really is talking about unit testing most of the time.

0 votes
Ralph Hagemeier January 7, 2015

I need to see what the workload is per developer/QA engineer. Based on Atlassian's response there is no way to do that (unless I will create one issue for qa and one for development).

0 votes
Gail Stewart April 22, 2013

The answer is that there is no good way to estimate and then track qa time. The estimate (original) time is not rolled up - although the time remaining is - so in the planning stage it is useless. (when using sub-tasks). Creating two tickets, one for the development and one for the testing is sometimes the right answer and sometimes not. I believe this is one of the incomplete answers in the Agile process itself. While it says "everything must be tested" - the process is vague with respect to the entirety of QA and really is talking about unit testing most of the time.

0 votes
Alex
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 17, 2013