How to make project keys incremental for sub-tasks

Jessica Nash September 18, 2017

Hi I have a project set up with a project key 'ABC' so that tickets are created as ABC-1, ABC-2, etc.

I would like to make sub-tasks have incremental project keys (so if I create a sub task to ABC-2, it is something like ABC-2-1 rather than ABC-3.  

Is there any way to configure this (I am not a developer).

Thanks

4 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 18, 2017

I don't believe so - as far as I'm aware it is an auto-increment that Jira uses and we have no control over it.

I can see why you may want this, but possibly it's worth investigating what you're really trying to achieve. There may be another of getting to what you're after.

So .... what is the end goal of you wanting that numbering?

0 votes
Walter Buggenhout
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 18, 2017

You could also use the issue type Epic for your larger tasks, rather than create seperate Jira project every single time you need to complete more than 1 task to complete your mission.

An epic is an issue type that acts as a parent to other tasks. These tasks don't need to be subtasks. It doesn't solve your numbering request, but will create less overhead than creating separate projects every time.

For referencing your external issue references, you could also set up a custom field in Jira where you include the link. As Warren said, the issue key in Jira is like a (structured) ID. through a custom field, you can freely enter your linking information as you desire.

0 votes