How can I understand what data feeds into the default reports?

Christopher Shorb November 24, 2020

Hello team,

I am new at this company, but have some experience with Jira at my old company. However, I am the scrum-master which is a new role for me; and also expected to improve processes. I believe I can use JIRA to help me do this.

I'd like to use the out of the box reports in Jira to create some KPIs that my team can drive towards improving. KPIs like Burndown, Velocity, and more.

However, when I look at the reports right now, they are not filled with useful information; or in some cases don't have any information at all. I want to make sure I understand what data is feeding the reports. Most likely we are not filling in the data correctly, but I can't even start to troubleshoot that.

Is there a way to see what fields and formulas populate the reports in Jira? Especially the Agile reports?

Thanks

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 24, 2020

Hello @Christopher Shorb 

Welcome to the community.

I don't think there is a way to see the formulas explicitly. 

Having said that, in a Scrum board the Burndown and Velocity reports are collecting data based on sprints. Have you started and/or completed any sprints? If you have no started sprints there will be nothing to show in burndown charts. If you have no completed sprints, there will be nothing to show in Velocity charts.

You'll need to provide some additional details about the specific reports you are viewing that provide no information and the ones where you think the information is not useful in order for the community to help you troubleshoot your cases.

We have both started and completed many sprints. But the charts are empty.