How are dependencies done in JIRA Agile?

Jim Drewniak August 24, 2015

I am new to the products because I am performing an evaluation.  I apologize if I am user the wrong terms to describe my need.   I have a need to establish and track dependencies from a user story (US)in one project to another one in a different project.  We have many projects in flight at one time. 

Is there a demo / walk through that is available that will show me how this is done?

I saw some discussion about dependencies between Epics.  I want to focus on the US for now.

7 answers

1 vote
Jason Hayman March 6, 2019

Late to the conversation here, but in case others come along like I did.

We also need to indicate dependencies and found:

1. an option to show dependencies via Portfolio
  2. the option to use Issue Linking

Issue linking does not have a dependencies option by default. So, we created one. You can do this by going to Settings (global, not project or board) -> Issue Linking -> Add New Link Type. We set it up as follows:

1. Name = Dependent
  2. Outward Link Description = a dependent of
  3. Inward Link Description = is dependent on

I hope this helps someone else.

Jody Anderson August 17, 2019

This was helpful to me, as we just started to get into a space where teams will have dependencies on each other.  We're going to consider:

Atlassian folks - if you have a current recommendation, appreciate your input.  

1 vote
Elizabeth Akagla August 24, 2015

Hi Jim,

JIRA may have the ability to extract this information, and there may be plug-ins that enable filters to obtain information on linked issues, release dates, and sprint end dates from JIRA.

Release dates are managed through fixVersions and we use a code name to designate a release.

Iterations and iteration end dates are managed through the Agile Boards; we use the Sprint identifier, e.g. ProjectNameSprint99 to signify the iteration. The team is aware of iteration start and end dates.