Grant access to selected team-managed project

Jakob B_ May 31, 2021

Hey all, 

I'm new to administrating jira and I'm trying to find a way of granting access to selected projects for external partners.

Initial situation:

• Jira Cloud Standard Plan
  • Mix of different projects, some company-managed, some team-managed

Desired scenario:

• External users A,B,C have access to one team-managed project
  • These Users don't have access to any other projects.

Can you please give me some guidance, as I could't find the solution by trying out, nor in the documentation (not for cloud, at least).

Thanks in advance and best regards, 

Jakob

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Callum Carlile _Automation Consultants_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 1, 2021

Hi @Jakob B_ 

For the team-managed projects, the Access permissions are set on a per-project basis, so you can add the users in Project Settings > Access, and choose their level of permissions. You can see more on team-managed project permission levels here.

For the company-managed projects, the permissions are set in the permission scheme used by the project. Here is what I would do for the company-managed projects:

1. Yourself or any Site Admin could create a new group in the User Management settings, which could be called external-users or external_company_name-users or something that's easily distinguishable. The external users can be added to this group
  2. Create a new permission scheme in Jira, or clone the default permission scheme. Associate the permissions you want with this new group (they will need the Browse issues permission as a minimum)