Can you or should you use Time Tasks in Sprints

Alex Harrison May 11, 2021

I am relatively new to sprints and working in a bit of a hybrid Agile/Waterfall method.

A colleague wants to include "Time Tasks" in the sprint but I am not sure if this is how Time Tasks should be used.  There is nothing stopping us adding it to the sprint but just wondering if there is any reason that you would not.  Does it have any impact on reporting for example.

1 answer

0 votes
Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 11, 2021

Hi @Alex Harrison 

What do you and your colleague mean by "time tasks"?  Do you mean to record the estimates in time units (e.g. hours)?

And are you using Team-managed (next-gen) or Company-managed (classic) projects for your team?

Teams work in different ways, including estimation, and so Jira supports estimation with: story points, time, both, or neither for Company-managed projects.  For Team-managed, Jira currently only supports estimation by story points or nothing.  For both project types, the reporting adjusts based upon the type of estimation you have selected.  (For Kanban teams, there is still some work to do from Atlassian to better support count-only estimation.)

I recommend having a chat with your team about why and how you used estimation, of any form, and that will help you decide what features of Jira to use to support that.

Best regards,

Bill

Alex Harrison May 11, 2021

We are using Company-Managed projects.  When I say "Time Task" this is the issuetype (eg stories, Subtask, Tasks, Time-tasks).

Normally I use Time Task for logging time to ad-hoc meetings.

We are in our infancy on estimation but currently we use both Story Points and Estimated time) but not really getting much reporting from it.

Bill Sheboy
Rising Star
Rising Star