Can't change project lead

Jim Kidd September 23, 2022

Hi:

I am running two instances of Jira server, Validation & Production.

In production as a project administrator, I'm unable to change a project lead using the normal method of 

Project settings -> Users and roles -> edit defaults

However, there is no problem with doing this same in the validation environment.  I suspect there is some permission difference between them but am unsure where.  I checked both, global permissions, and the default permission schemes.  Both environments (validation & production) match.  Does anyone have other suggestions where to check?

Thanks

Jim

2 answers

0 votes
Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 23, 2022

Hello @Jim Kidd 

I'm not sure about the method you are trying to use, and it has been a while since I accessed a Jira Server/Data Center system, but the Project Lead field is typically found on the Project Settings > Details page, and you should be able to change the field on that screen.

Could you provide a screen image of what you're working with? Black out names and confidential data.

Hi:

I’m running version Jira server v8.12.2.  The project settings screen doesn’t have a place to change the project lead.  That function appears in the users and roles section.  After some testing, I found this issue is not a global issue because in some projects I can change project leads and not others.  Since we use different issue type schemes, I suspect it may be related to the scheme.  Does this help?

Jim Kidd
Sr. Support Analyst

Global IT

Trudy Claspill
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 23, 2022

Ah, yes, I found the related documentation.