Which is best? Multiple projects with 1 release or 1 project with multiple releases?

Craig Baillie September 13, 2019

So I'm a Jira admin, helping advise different departments on their Jira implementation. In keeping with Agile principles I'm happy for teams to organically find workflows that work for them and customise accordingly. Recently, one team got started with Jira and opened up an interesting discussion.

Is it better to create separate projects for each release, or separate releases within each project?

My gut feeling is to just set the fix version for each release, and create a 'release' when finished but the team wanted to go for separate projects for each release, stating the following reasons...

• They don't want to see any of the issues from previous releases - Those issues are either moved to the next project, or to a separate project of 'live issues'
  • When using the quick search links 'open issues' etc, it would otherwise include things not in scope for the release.

Thoughts?

2 answers

5 votes
Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 13, 2019

@Craig Baillie 

Definitely in this case 1 project with multiple releases makes sense. This why fix versions are there in Jira.

I think it is more of a case of training the users about filters, issue navigator, dashboards and reports. Since you mentioned agile. Also educating them on using epics, labels, boards with relevant issues only and utilising these capabilities to the fullest of Jira.

Ravi

0 votes
Ste
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 15, 2019

I concur with @Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_