Share your upgrade process tips/tricks

Jh July 25, 2020

So I am a bit new to upgrading our Jira Service Desk instance and I struggle immensely with getting Jira to boot back up successfully. Below are the steps I follow, please let me know it can be improved and please share your tips/tricks in where to look/what to look for when troubleshooting Jira not starting back up after the upgrade.

1. Take snapshot of VM
  2. Run update check
  3. Update all apps
  4. Clean up Temp/Log folder
  5. Run upgrade installer
  6. Delete hidden plugin cache folders(.bundled-plugin and .osgi-plugin) folders
  7. I normally make a copy of the original file and and add an underscore at the end of the name, then copy over the modified file so I know which files were modified easily. I use FarManager to browse the backup archive/main Jira folders. Normally the files that are modified (FOR ME) are:
    1. Server.xml
    2. Web.xml
    3. Robots.txt
    4. email-template-id-mappings.xml

5. Outlook-email.translations
    6. crm-plugin.properties
    7. Jirawebactionsupport.properties

3 answers

2 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 25, 2020

Looks like a good process to me.

One trick on item 7 though - before stopping Jira to run the installer over it, visit the system information page, there is a section in there for "modified files" which will list all the files the installer is going to overwrite.

For troubleshooting after upgrade, your cleaning of the log directory is great because you know the logs in there are being generated by the upgrade and restart.  As with any troubleshooting in Jira, the application log in there is the immediate starting point!