Set the status of an issue while creating it

Hello Community :wave:

I’m Luke Ellery and I work as a content designer on Jira Software.

We’ve noticed a lot of our users change an issue’s status right after they create it. So we’re adding a new field to the Create issue window, letting you set the issue’s status when you create it. For example, select In progress if you’ve already started the work.

We’re rolling this feature out slowly while we gather feedback to help us improve the experience, so you might not see it in your project straight away.

How the status field works

While you’re creating an issue, you’ll see a field labelled Status. Select it to see a list of available statuses to choose from. You’ll only see statuses that:

• you have permission to use

• don’t have any special triggers or conditions associated with them in your workflow

• can be transitioned to from the To do status

You’ll always see the initial status or transition in your workflow. Normally that status would be To do, but if you’ve made a custom initial status or transition in your project, it will always show.

Select the status you’d like your issue to be in when it’s created, then continue creating your issue as normal. When you hit Create, the issue will automatically transition into your chosen status.

Managing the status field

If you find this global field is competing with any automation you’ve set up relating to issue creation, you may need to disable the field which will completely remove it from the Create issue window.

1. Go to Settings > System.

2. Select Edit Settings.

3. Scroll to Options and choose the settings you’d like to turn on or off.

4. Select Update to save your changes.

Troubleshooting steps

We've noticed a few questions asking why specific statuses aren’t showing, so we've added these steps to help you find out more.

Company-managed Project