Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Regarding Next-Gen Approvals - How to populate the field list?

Ellen Laszlo September 21, 2020

I am a newbie trying step-by-step per the guide at https://support.atlassian.com/jira-service-desk-cloud/docs/add-an-approval-to-a-request-type-in-next-gen-projects/?_ga=2.109447302.2066360177.1579481546-1759864871.1575410728 

How do I put approvers' names into the "list of people who can approve" per step # 5c  ??

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 21, 2020

Hi Ellen, welcome to the Community. So do you already have an approver field created? If so you can go to the admin area under Issues > custom fields, find you approver field and then click on the ellipses to the far right. Select Contexts and default value. In this screen you can add/edit approvers.

My new approver field is NOT in the Issues>Custom Fields

I also tried adding a Custom Field in that same area but then it did not show up in the Project

My Project is NEXT-GEN...  could that be the difference ?

thanks for responding so quickly !

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 21, 2020

Oops...very sorry. I see this is next-gen. I have not used approvals in NG but let me have a quick look.

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
September 21, 2020

Ellen, it seems to me that if you select “Admin selects” in 5b it would prompt you but I don’t have an NG JSD project to test it out. I will try to create one and test it out later and check back here.

Jack Brickey
Community Leader
Community Leader
September 21, 2020