Having issues making incoming emails create incidents

AJ Greiner May 12, 2022

Hello, 

First I will say I am very new to Jira but have used ITSM ticketing systems in the past. I am in the beginning stages of building the instance for my company and we want users to be able to email us and have an incident created not a service request. Looking around I found older articles but I do not see the choices they are seeing.  When I navigate to Configure email request types I only see Emailed request, Report Broken Hardware and Create a post-incident review as my choices. 

Thanks in advance for any assistance. 

image.png

1 answer

1 vote
Rilwan Ahmed
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 12, 2022

Hi @AJ Greiner ,

Welcome to the community. 

The request types created for the project are only displayed in the "Configure Email" setup. First you need to go to project settings --> Request type --> Create new request type after selecting the Incident Issue type.

Once the new request type for Incident is created, you can now find it in email configuration.

image.png

Please note: Before all this, your project should have Incident Issue type.

You can read below links on how to create request type in https://support.atlassian.com/jira-service-management-cloud/docs/create-a-request-type/ and Email config in https://support.atlassian.com/jira-service-management-cloud/docs/choose-a-request-type-for-email-requests/

AJ Greiner May 12, 2022

Thank you for the information. I created the request type under incidents but I do not see it as a choice. After creating it I went to email requests and from that drop down this is all I see. image.pngimage.pngimage.png

Rilwan Ahmed
Community Leader
Community Leader