Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why do JSD email fail as "signup is not currently available"?

Clayton Chancey December 11, 2019

I am a system administrator for Jira Cloud, and I have one Service Desk project that is behaving strangely. Emails from non-company domains do not generate issues, even though the system, application, and project settings are appropriate. This only appears to be happening in one project.

Specifically: here are the errors I am seeing in the Service Desk Mail Handler logs under our problematic project.

A.PNG

For comparison, here are the email logs from another Service Desk project with identical Customer Permissions settings.

B.PNGAs you can see, emails from external sources seem to be successful in this case.

So, in order to address the "Failed: Signup is not currently available" error I first checked Global Customer Permissions here, and they appear to be configured correctly to accept issues without requiring signup.

C.PNGIn addition, I checked the Customer Permissions settings at the project level, and they also appear to be configured appropriately.

D.PNGWhat am I missing? Is this a JSD Cloud bug? I have a good amount of experience in this product and yet, after consulting all the relevant documentation, I'm not sure what is going on here.

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Pierce Radtke November 9, 2020

I just got done going through Jira's support to find an answer to this issue.

1st - Check to make sure that the email address does not somehow have both a record in your Atlassian systems as well as your customer portal systems.  Having the email in both locations confuses how the system treats the account.  If the email is in both locations migrate the customer portal account over to Atlassian.