Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want JIRA Service Desk new user default to Customer Portal

Jacki Keys July 29, 2014

We have a nonprofit license for Atlassian products. As an administrator, I've set up JIRA, Confluence and JIRA Service Desk. We currently have all our support going to one person's email (we are small). What we want is to redirect the people who email for support to JIRA Service Desk. They are all external to our company. I'd like this to be as seamless for the end user as possible as well as keep administration overhead to a minimum.

1. Want to direct the user to a link to our Service Desk Customer Portal. If they do not have an account (as none of them will initially), they should be directed to a link to create their JIRA account instead (instead of being prompted to contact a JIRA administrator for this.
  2. Once they create their account and log in for the first time, I want them to be restricted to only see the Customer Portal by default.
  3. As admins, we can manually grant access as needed later, but no new account should have permission to view anything besides the Customer Portal by default.

2 answers

0 votes
Ravi Sagar _Sparxsys_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 27, 2016

What if you by default all the projects in JIRA and limit them to jira-users group only? That ways people who login to service desk can access JIRA url but will not see any project.

0 votes
Dave Theodore [Coyote Creek Consulting]
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 30, 2014