Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transition if a comment is added during a Status change

Lindsay Edwards January 29, 2018

I have a pretty straight forward workflow for my JIRA Service Desk Incident type. A ticket comes in it's assigned to a Component group.(Assigned to Team) A member of the Component group assigns the ticket to themselves or a member of there group which transitions the ticket to "Assigned to Agent" and from there they go back and forth with the customer (Waiting for Customer and Assigned to Agent) until it is moved to resolved. 

My question is during the Assign to Agent transition a screen comes up to assign the ticket. (See attached number 1) I would like an automation or maybe this is a workflow post function to transition the ticket to Waiting for customer if the agent puts a comment in that screen. 

I am a full JIRA system admin using JIRA 7.5 and JIRA Service Desk 3.8.1

Attachment1.png

1 answer

0 votes
Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 31, 2018

The problem here is that if you see this screen, this is already a transition screen.   That means that it's possible this issue can change it's status when you complete this form.   But it sounds like you might then also want it to change status again immediately to reply to the customer and set the issue to waiting on customer.

Since this is an assignment screen, I don't think this should be really be intended for use as a means to reply to the customer just yet.   In most cases this comment field might be empty, or in some cases, I could see where a dispatcher is assigning the issue to another Agent and in turn just wants to leave an internal comment for that agent in regards to this case or some additional information that Agent should know.