Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Training Request Types

mcarrera October 16, 2020

Hi Everyone!

I'm TOTALLY new to Jira and we're beginning the process of setting up our Service Desk and thinking though how we want to structure things.

We have a Training team that's a part of our IT group here, and we have traditionally included them in our ticketing process.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions on how to deal with "training ticket/request types" when setting up and structuring Jira?

It all seems very problem/incident/resolution focused, and training tickets tend to work a bit differently than your typical "service desk" ticket type.

Ok, thank you for any help you might have!

2 answers

0 votes
Arthur Mack
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 17, 2020

@mcarrera 

We have found you can use JSD for just about anything so setting it up to track training should be easy. You can create for example an issue type to do with training and then create a custom workflow associated with that issue type that is for people doing the training. It could have some custom fields etc to do with training.

mcarrera October 19, 2020

Thanks for your reply Arthur! The custom fields actually REALLY interest me.

As I wrote to Carlos (above) we'd love to be able to track our entire relationship with our users. So things like - what training classes they have attended, what sorts of "certifications" they have achieved, what training materials they have been sent and/or accessed, appointment times, notes on how a training session went (notes about the user's technical ability),  automated followups, etc.

So I'm not sure how much of that could be included in a ticket, but if even some of that could get added in, that would be a huge step!

Thanks!