Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Jira Service Desk - Full-Email Interaction

Andrea Gallo March 24, 2019

Hello there!

I'm new to the Atlassian eco-system and I am starting using Jira Service Desk for tracking support requests.

As of now, the communication between our Service Desk and  and customers is currently managed ONLY via email: I would like to use Jira Service Desk only to 'silently' track all the communications, update SLAs and create reports. I have a couple of questions:

1. How do I ensure that any activity performed by an agent on Jira Service Desk will result in sending an email to a customer?

2. Currently, I have enabled the creation of new requests from email (as described here: https://confluence.atlassian.com/servicedeskserver032/receiving-requests-by-email-828800649.html?_ga=2.184369318.1884134358.1553438516-1059549463.1546631455). Issues are properly created in the Service Desk Project. If an agent replies from her/his email, the issue is properly updated. If a customer replies from her/his email, Jira Service Desk creates a new issue. Can Jira Service Desk be configured to always append new comments to the already created issues? How? 

Update on question #2: I just verified that Jira is configured not to create new users from emails. Can this be the explanation for question #2? If a user is created in Jira, can I still ensure question #1? 

Thanks in advance for any advice!

1 answer

0 votes
Sven Schatter _Lively Apps_
Marketplace Partner
Marketplace Partners provide apps and integrations available on the Atlassian Marketplace that extend the power of Atlassian products.
March 24, 2019

1. You can customize service desk notifactions.

2. Jira needs to know what Issue it should append the email to as a comment. Therefore there must be an issue key somewhere in the email. If that's not feasible for you, you could write a more complex/smart incoming mail handler yourself.