How to set SLA for workflow with multiple paths.

I have a work flow that has three levels of escalation, Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3.  I need an SLA that shows the time each Tier has the issue.

Example for Tier one - there time would start when they receive the issue (waiting for Tier one. The time would stop when the resolve the issue or pass it to Tier 2 support.  It has to follow one of these paths.  

If I put the One start status and two end status will it look for them in order and not count them twice?  Or do I need to pause it on all the statuses in between?


1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted

Hi Jenifer,

I believe that your use case should be possible.

You would need to create 3 SLA metrics, with for example:

  • the start as ONE and end as TWO, DONE
  • the start as TWO and end as THREE, DONE
  • the start as THREE and end as DONE

Any transitioning / handoff states in between would need to be set to pause.

This should then provide the time that the issue has been at each tier. However if this does not actually meet your requirements, I would suggest raising a request at


Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer
Community showcase
Published Feb 13, 2019 in Jira Service Desk

What's new in Jira Service Desk Server: Introducing 4.0 & more - Feb 2019

Hello Atlassian Community!  I'm Teresa, the Product Marketing Manager   for Jira Service Desk Server at Atlassian. I'm excited to announce two exciting releases for Jira Service De...

414 views 1 1
Read article

Atlassian User Groups

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find a group

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find my local user group

Unfortunately there are no AUG chapters near you at the moment.

Start an AUG

You're one step closer to meeting fellow Atlassian users at your local meet up. Learn more about AUGs

Groups near you