Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I update my certificate

Dusty Kirschmann September 15, 2017

Im new to Jira and Tomcat as I have taken over the admining of this server.  I need to update the cert on it as we are about to expire but I dont know what to do.  I was looking at docks and they talked about portecle but I am not finding anything to looks like a keystore to open.  The next option is to use openssl but Im not finding commands on how to find the cert or if I can just request a new csr and get my cert and then where to replace it.  Can anyone help?

Thanks

Dusty

2 answers

1 vote
Dave Theodore [Coyote Creek Consulting]
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 15, 2017

Where is the cert being managed? If it is being managed in Java, I would recommend moving SSL termination to a reverse proxy server. It is far easier to manage certs this way and doesn't require a restart of the application. This will also allow you to bind to 443 and have the potentially less secure Java application run as an unprivileged user and listen on a high port. Atlassian has this well documented, and it's easy to set up.  They also have the process documented if you're terminating SSL in Tomcat.  I hope this helps.

0 votes
Dusty Kirschmann September 20, 2017