Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Email Channel

Donny Forbes January 28, 2019

I am new to Service Desk. I have it setup right now so that when users send request via email it gets converted and creates a ticket. This is working, however when ever I open the ticket from the web and comment on the ticket the email does not get delivered to the requester inbox. 

Please advice on how to get this setup.  

3 answers

0 votes
Donny Forbes January 29, 2019

How do I grant my user system-administrator access?  I see  this for “Jira Administrator ability to perform most administration functions ( EXCLUDING SMTP Config )

That’s why I believe I am not able to see this option to configure an outgoing SMTP for my Jira Service Desk for the Cloud. 

Does anyone know how to give my-self permission here so I can get the SMTP Outgoing setup?

I was told that the JSD Cloud version doesn't have an SMTP option is that true? 

Tim Eddelbüttel
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 29, 2019

Oh, you're on Cloud. There is a default SMTP Server which you can't change. But you can go to "Send email" in next to Outgoing Mail and see the from address and can send a test as well. 

The default outgoing address is jira@yourdomain.atlassian.net. If not explicit changed in the project settings it's the same for the Service Desk Notification outbound mail.

Then you can potentially check on you mail client / mail admin if you receive it.

ok I will do this. 

Donny Forbes January 30, 2019

I am good now. Got it all working, well this part. 

0 votes
Tim Eddelbüttel
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 28, 2019