Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automation help needed (when this happens trigger)

Jennifer Gardner July 25, 2018

Hi,

I'm new to Automation so I'm looking for some help.

The workflow I am using means that when a new incident comes into the service desk it has a status of 'new'. What I want to happen, is that when the incident is assigned I want it to automatically transition to 'In Progress'. I think I have the rule correct apart from the initial 'when this happens' part of the rule. I'm struggling because I'm restricted to what I can use. I've tried simply using 'issue created' but it failed and I understand why.

Please help!

New to In Progress failed.pngNew to In Progress.png

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Colin Helke
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 27, 2018

One way you could avoid having to transition the issue and assign the issue, is to have the issue assign to whoever transitions it. You can use the "Assign to Current User" post function on this page Advance Workflow Configuration. So now you just have to click "In Progress" and the issue is assigned to you.

Jennifer Gardner August 3, 2018

Thank you, I will give this a go :-)

It worked a treat! Thank you very much.

0 votes
Jennifer Gardner July 26, 2018

Hi,

Apologies in the delayed response.

I've tried this again by creating a new incident and I get the same result.

1.png2.png3.png

Jobin Kuruvilla [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 26, 2018