"Couldn't send request"/"Incorrect request type" error message on service desk portal

Omarz April 8, 2019

Hi Community,

I am new to Jira and I wish that I can find help here.

I have a service desk project and when I create an issue form the portal I get "Couldn't send request"/"Incorrect request type" error message. However, the issue is actually created successfully on Jira Application and can be seen in portal if I click Requests/Created by me.

Note, I didn't use to get this error before. I successfully created so many issues from portal. This happened all of a sudden.

Thanks in advanced

1 comment

Ismael Jimoh
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 8, 2019

Hi @Omarz 

Can you go to project settings, request types page and ensure you have an issue type mapped to your request type.

This is the most common reason you get the error you described.

Select the same request type that gave you the error.

Omarz April 8, 2019

Hi @Ismael Jimoh,

I did that. In fact, the request is not going to appear on portal if it’s not mapped in the project setting/request types.

Thanks 

Steven Bortels April 30, 2019

Hello Ismael,

I have a similar issue, so I thought I post this here as well. My apologies if this is not appreciated. 

I receive the following error message when trying to created a 'Service Request' ticket:

Service Request error message.PNG

When navigating to Project > Project Settings > Request types, I have the following:

Request type:                                                Issue type:

General Support - Service Request               Service Request

I have created a question for this on Atlassian Community:

Why inability to create a Service Request ticket and a Remedial Maintenance ticket?

It relates to my previous question on Atlassian Community: