Startup decisions and lock in

Mike Pearson November 7, 2019

As a newbie admin user, I am seeing this pattern a lot on JIRA, and it leads to an extremely bad user experience.  Please tell me I'm doing it all wrong, and explain to me what I should be doing!

Here's one example:

On Project creation, I'm asked whether I want a classic project or a next gen project. I'm new to this so I ask around. 'Next gen' seems to get the vote, but it doesn't look like a simple decision. But surely I can change my mind later...but I must get on, so Next Gen it is.

Down the road I have to choose Kanban or Scrum. Kanban seems to fit my case better, but again, not a simple choice.

I load up a project. Now I discover a whole host of restrictions imposed by those choices. Let's take one. Only one Sprint at a time. Maybe Scrum would have been better. But there's no way to change to Scrum now.

Search the mailing lists. Well, there's a Lab solution for parallel sprints, but not in Next Gen. OK, how do I switch to a classic project? Answer, I can't do that either. 

These are not the only examples. How can I reorganise and make an existing task a sub-task? Answer: Recreate it. Really? Are you serious?

I thought we had eliminated 'modal' user interfaces like this back in the 80s.

5 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Dario B
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 15, 2019

Hello @Mike Pearson ,

Welcome to the Atlassian Community!

Let me start by saying that Next-Gen projects are a new kind of project introduced not so long ago that are still under heavy development. So you might encounter some bugs or missing functionalities.

In order to know the functionalities that are going to be released in the next days you can check the public roadmap using below link: