starting a Jira core 4.0 after a linux server restart

Afligo Afligo June 30, 2017

Hello,

I'm a DB Developer that inherited a jira system on a Linux CentOS VM machine, we had power failure and all the servers restarted, after restart jira is not coming up!

there's no such file as Jira-Start.sh ! I searched all over.

any idea what's going on? any help is appreciated please.

thanks

Jason

1 answer

1 vote
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
June 30, 2017

The concept of "core" only came in with JIRA 7.  You say you're on JIRA 4.

However, whatever version you are on, have a look in <jira installation>/bin for the startup files, and <jira home>/logs for the reasons why it might not be starting.

Afligo Afligo July 3, 2017

Hi Nic

thanks for jumping in,  yeah not sure about the core part but we only got the Jira software , installed in /apps/jira/

I see a folder called LOGS, but it has thousands of files, I don't see a recent one by looking at the time stamp, maybe it's not even being set to start automatically?

I see file called : startup.sh  in the Bin Folder, running that gives the that message:

jira 1.PNG

searched online and created a script to point to JAVA and call the same file, but gets that error now !

jira 2.PNG

hope you can help me with that issue.

thanks

Jason

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 3, 2017

Ok, if there's nothing going into the <jira home>/logs, then the Tomcat is not getting as far as starting the application.

So, we need to look into <jira installation>/log directory for "catalina.out" and look at the end of that file to see why it's not starting.

Hi Nic,