example of permission scheme to allow customer access to certain issues and types

Winfred May 9, 2017

Was going through the community posts and the documentation, but could not find the answer for what I am trying to achieve. I am relatively new to Jira.

My setup: Jira Core Server (7.3.6), we have a development team, a project role Customer (and user group project-customer). We have a single project, with issue types for Bugs and RFE's.

Would like to achieve:

• default: the default permission scheme's. Exceptions for the project role Customer. They can not do anything except a few things.
  • they can read/create all tickets of issue type RFE
  • they can view/comment on their own tickets.
  • they can not see the other issues / types
  • a developer could decide to add a Customer user to a specific Bugs issue.

Was looking at:

But I have not yet found the full set of instructions / options that I'm looking for.

• I have created a custom permission scheme
  • Do I have to delete all default permissions ("application access - any logged in user")?
  • Do I have to manually replace that each of these default permission with Project Role - "Internal team"?
  • I would rather only add the exception: Role "Customer" creates limits for those users.
  • How do I achieve issue type restrictions? Regular users can read/create all issue types, Customer users can only create RFE's/Bugs, they can read all RFE's and their own Bugs.

1 answer

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 9, 2017

The project permission scheme doc is the most useful one here, although it is quite long and not a tutorial.